Tamilnadu - Tamilnadu Districts - Nagapattinam - Nagapattinam District

Nagapattinam District

Nagapattinam District is a coastal district of Tamil Nadu state in southern India. The town of Nagapattinam is the district headquarters.

It had a population of 1,488,839 as of 2001. It is 22.18% urbanised as per Census 2001.

The district has a literacy of 76.89%, around the average in the state.

Nagapattinam District was formerly a part of Thanjavur District. The district boundary is shared by Tiruvarur, Karaikal, Tanjore and Cuddalore districts. Its population at the 2001 Census was nearly 1.5 million. It is divided into seven taluks. All but two of them are coastal, and all are named after their main towns, which are their administrative centres. From north to south,


they are Sirkazhi, Tharangambadi, Mayiladuthurai non-coastal , Nagapattinam, Kilvelur, Thirukkuvalai non-coastal , and Vedaranyam. It is bordered on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the south by the Palk Strait. On the coast between Tharamgambadi and Nagapattinam lies the small district of Karaikal, an enclave belonging administratively to the Pondicherry Union Territory.

This is the only district in Tamilnadu to be formed out of two disjoint regions. The district headquarters Nagapattinam is located in the southern part which is less populated than the northern one. But people from the most populous northern part have to come down all the way to headquarters either by entering other district Thiruvarur or other Union territory Karaikal of Puducherry for any official purposes. Though this causes a lot of problems to the locals government is seeming unconcerned about it.


The District of Nagapattinam lies on the shores of the Bay of Bengal between Northern Latitude 10.7906 degrees and 79.8428 Degrees Eastern Longitude an area of 2715.velankanni is tourism place of Tamil nadu 83 Square kilometers in its fold. The District capital, Nagapattinam lies on the eastern coast , 350 kilometers down south of the State capital Chennai and 145 kilometers east of Tiruchirappalli.

Top Govt Officials

  1. Deputy Inspector General of Police.. Mr Abhash Kumar IPS
  2. District Collector.. Shri C. Munianathan IAS


Revenue Divisions 2
Taluks 7
Blocks 11
Corporation & Municipalities 4
Town Panchayats 8
Revenue Villages 519
Panchayat Villages 434