Tamil Nadu - Tamilnadu Government

Tamilnadu Government



His Excellency the Governor of Tamil Nadu Thiru Surjit Singh Barnala is the constitutional Head of the State.

Hon'ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Dr.J.Jeyalalitha is the Head of the elected Government and heads the Council of Ministers.

Hon'ble Chief Justice of Madras High Court Hon'ble Justice M.Y.EQBAL is the Head of Judiciary.

Tamil Nadu State has a population of 62,405,679 as per Census 2001 and covers an area of 130,058 sq.kms. Chennai (formerly known as Madras) is the State Headquarters. The administrative units of the State are:

Districts: 31
Revenue Divisions: 73
Taluks: 208
Firkas: 1,120
Revenue Villages: 16,563
Municipal Corporations: 8
Municipalities: 150
Panchayat Unions (Blocks): 385
Town Panchayats: 561
Village Panchayats: 12,618
Lok Sabha Constituencies: 39
Assembly Constituencies: 234

** Ariyalur District is the newly formed 31st District of Tamil Nadu.