Tamil Nadu - Temples - List of Temples in Tamil Nadu - Temples of Lord Murugan

Temples of Lord Murugan
The Arupadai Veedu

Name of Temple

Name of Deity


Built around


Tirupparankundram Temple Subramanya Swami Tirupparankundram Madurai  
Lord Murugan married Deivanai at this abode, also is the first among the Six Holy Abodes of Murugan Arupadai Veedu, literally Six Battle Camps.
Sri Subramanya Swami Temple Senthilaandavar Tiruchendur Tirunelveli 100 CE
This is the second among the six Holy Abodes and the only seashore Murugan temple. It is here that Surasamharam takes place, as this temple was Murugan's battle camp against the asura Surapadman who was being hosted at Vira Mahendram, a mid-ocean fortress.
Tiruvavinankudi Temple Dandayudhapani Swami Pazhani Dindigul  
This temple is the third among the six Holy Abodes.[15]The Murugan idol was made by Bogar from an amalgam of nine poisonous elements Navabaashaanam.
Swamimalai Murugan Temple Swaminatha Swamy Swamimalai Tanjavur  
This temple is the fourth among the six Holy Abodes. Lord Murugan explained the meaning of Omkaram to his father Lord Siva here.
Tiruttanikai Murugan Temple Tanikesan Tiruttani Chennai  
This temple is the fifth among the six Holy Abodes. Lord Murugan imparted the knowledge of Tamil to Sage Agathiyar here
Pazhamudhircholai Temple Malaikkizhavon Pazhamudhircholai Madurai  
This temple is the last one of the six Holy Abodes. Lord Murugan tested Avvaiyar's knowledge under a tree here.

Arupadai Veedu -----<< >>----- Other Murugan temples