Tamil Nadu - Sports - M.A.Chidambaram Stadium

Ground facts and figures

  1. * Virender Sehwag's 319 against South Africa is the highest test score at the ground.

  2. * This stadium played host to the second tied-test in the history of test cricket.

  3. * Saeed Anwar's 194 against India is the highest ODI score in this ground. It is, till date, the highest individual score by any batsman in the limited overs version of the game.

  4. * England hold the record for the highest score on the ground so far when they hit 652-7d runs against India.

  5. * The Indians hold the record for the lowest score at the ground when England restricted them to just 83.

  6. * Narendra Hirwani's match bowling figures of 16/136 currently are the best at the ground.

  7. * Rahul Dravid scored his 10,000th Test run on this ground.

  8. * India's 387/4 in the fourth innings of the first Test against England in December 2008, became the highest successful run chase in India. Incidentally, this also became the fourth highest in Test match history.

  9. * It was in Chepauk, that Sachin Tendulkar scored his first century in the fourth innings in a winning cause for India.

  10. * Sachin Tendulkar has scored more runs in Chepauk - 876 in nine Tests at an average of 87.60 - than any other venue in India.

  11. * Jun 28 2009 Decision to start reconstruction work for setting up state-of-art facilities and an increased spectator capacity of 45,000 over the existing 36,000, the cost of which is Rs 175 crore.[4]

  12. * On Oct 15 2004 Shane Warne surpassed Muttiah Muralitharan's tally of 532 test wickets when he took the wicket of Irfan Pathan. It was his 533rd test wicket taken in his 114th test. Muttiah Muralitharan achieved this feat in 91 tests and is currently the highest wicket taker in the world with 770 test wickets

  13. * On Mar 22 2001 India defeated Australia by 2 wickets to clinch the Border-Gavaskar

trophy after losing it to australia in 1999-2000 series. A match winning century by Sachin Tendulkar and a record of 32 wickets in the test series by Harbhajan Singh helped India to end the winning streak of Australia consecutively followed by an epic Kolkata test.Australia won 16 tests in succession.